Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are your thoughts on hunting whitetail deer with a .357 mag.? I am new to the pistol thing and thought that going right to the big .44 mag was a going to much for a beginner so I went with the .357. What would be a good bullet to load for deer? I see barnes make a bullet for the .357. I have enjoyed shooting their bullets in the muzzleloader. Just inquiring. Outback

·
Registered
45 Posts
.357 hunting deer is illegal here in maryland, and also in a lot of states. Minimum here is a .44.

Not sure about your state, check your local laws though.

·
Registered
606 Posts
.357 Mag is legal for deer in many states, but some states will also impose a "minimum barrel length" on hunting with handguns. As aliasneo07 said, check the regulations in your state.

That said, a .357 is pretty light for deer hunting. A really stout 158 grain load, or, better yet a 180 grain load, with well-constructed bullets (I use Hornady XTPs in a .44 Mag) will do the job if you restrict your range and choose your shot. When you can hit one of the small snack-sized paper plates (about a 6" diameter) with 100% certainty EVERY shot, you're within your effective range.

·
Registered
640 Posts