Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie. I have a S&W 357 with a 6" barrel. Also a High Standard Military HD 22LR. I enjoy shooting these pistols but I'm considering a concealed carry weapon and neither of these is suitable. What I'm wondering is - is it possible to be accurate enough with the higher caliber "pocket pistols" with 3" barrels, for them to actually be useful in anything other than very close quarters self-defense situations?

·
Registered
52 Posts
I would say yes. It's generally not the accuracy of the gun, it's the shooter. If the grips and sights are adequate, I don't see why a 3" snubby or pocket auto couldn't be accurate.

SS

·
Registered
606 Posts
The short sight radius makes it more difficult to place shots precisely with a short-barrelled pistol... but, as you alluded to, their real purpose is to be able to hit the center of mass on a man-sized target at 5 yards or thereabouts.

You don't see a lot of snub-nose guns at a bullseye match.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Yes. As noted, the limitation is more the shooter than the firearm. I have a 2" bbled snubbie - .38 Spl.
With wadcutters, and when I haven't had too much coffee, I can hold the 8 ring on a 50 ft. slow fire target (about 5-6 inches dia.)
A better shooter could surely improve on that.
Pete

·
Registered
147 Posts
I love my steel J-frames, barrel length less than 2". They are very accurate with practice. I don't like the alloy frame J's because I just can't shoot them as well.

I also have a 3 1/2" barreled 1911 Compact Armscor pistol and it has been more accurate than I expected and very reliable.

The secret really is practice - keep your grip and sight picture consistant, and practice with the ammo you will carry.
Dry firing is a great help.
IMO, learning to shoot a short barrel handgun will make you a better shot overall.

mark

·
Registered
297 Posts