Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an on-going argument with a friend: he states that the Sig Sauer P220 is better, overall, than the H&K USP. Naturally, I say the opposite. His main point: reliability. Mine:Quality. Can I get some oppinions?

"Dont hit at all, if honorably possible to avoid hitting; but never hit soft."

·
Registered
640 Posts
No question about it, the SIG 220. then again, I'm kind of biased as I have a Browning marked one. I have shot the H&K USP a fair bit and it is a good gun also. This is kind of comparing apples to oranges as the HK was designed as a special purpose weapons platform (if I have my models straight, I am not an HK expert) while the SIG was designed as a convenient to carry side arm. If I were forced to carry a handgun into a gunfight, the HK would be a serious contender for my choice otherwise, I would rather carry the 220 on my hip in the unlikely event of getting into a problem. So, pound for pound, give me the SIG as I would probably have it at hand if needed. Otherwise, the HK would be the choice.
As for quality and reliability, they are so close together that it comes down to the individual gun and the person maintaining it. These are top end guns with enough time (especially the 220) to have ironed out the consistant bugs. i'd say you both owe each other a bottle of your favored beverage. Come to think of it, that is a subject worth arguing about.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think you have a good point, uglydog, when it comes to apples and oranges. they were definitly designed for different purposes. But, on the other hand, they are aiming at very much the same market. As I am a new member, thanks for your point.

·
Registered
13 Posts