1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the best all around 9mm?
and
What is the best all around .45?

For the .45 I was looking at a 1911 or Sig 220...
For the 9mm I was looking at a Sig 226 or G17...

I have shot, but never owned, handguns. I've done some research, but was looking for some more hands-on info from people owned or shot alot. Im just looking for helpful opinions and information.

Thanks,
Paul

·
Registered
5 Posts
:arrow: Im not the expert on the pistols you mentioned but you seem to be looking at the best. Sig. makes excellent pistols. I dont own a glock but have the xd-45 and xd-9 and both are excellent in my opinion. I recently purchased a new model FNP-45 and really like it. I hope to convince my wife i really need and sig 226-.40 soon. :roll:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your reply. Im pretty new to everything. I saw some previous posts on people asking similar questions and looked these particular pistols up. I know the basics of everything, but when it comes to all the technical stuff im still learning.

·
Registered
147 Posts
My advice is to gain a little more experience in handling and shooting various pistols. Handguns are very subjective - what I prefer may not do anything at all for you - which is "best" is relative.

You are fortunate to have so many really good designs to choose from. The problem is that you have so many really good designs to choose from.

You could not go far wrong with any of the pistols you listed, but find something that just seems to fit your hand, and is what you want. You can only do this by handling variouys pistols and shooting as many various types as you can.

Good luck, and I hope you enjoy your search.

mark

·
Registered
50 Posts
There are a number of good guns out there in both 9mm and 45, but depending of your experience, what is best for me may not be best for you.