Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some opinions on a few guns, this will be my first personal purchase though I have shot a lot of revolvers and a few semi autos. I am looking at getting a Springfield XD in 40 cal, a Ruger p93, or a new imported gun made in turkey called the IAC Regent 100 its basically a mil spec 1911 knock off. What do you guys think? The gun will be used basically for recreational shooting at the range. The p93 has been the hardest for me to find, but when I do it is at a very good price about 250. I am a college student so that is very appealing. That being said I noticed a very big drop in price on the XD going in my area for about 300-400. The IAC is also about 300. Any advice is welcome. Because I am in school shooting the guns at the moment to test them is not possible this will be a purchase done this summer.

Thanks,

Hawkeye

·
Registered
149 Posts
dont be in a rush to spend your $$$. there will be guns out there when you get the time & $$$.

questions;
1. did you have a chance to handle the guns?
2. try to find a gun rental range and shoot them or similar if possible. (comment)
3. have you priced ammo? many people are buying 9s or 22s due to 45 ammo prices. how expensive is 40 in your area?
4. have you considered if you go with the IAC where you will get it serviced, if something should break? will it use 1911 parts or is it some hybred/mixmaster? cost of spare mags if its not OTS 1911 mags.

·
Registered
585 Posts
Absolutely correct. Try out a few guns if you can. If you have and have narrowed your purchase down to these three, I would go with the XD. Since it's your first purchase and since it will be used primarily to punch paper... go 9mm rather than .40.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have handled the ruger and the XD in the past, I eliminated the IAC for the reason you mentioned. 9mm ammo is about 14 and 40 is about 19.

·
Registered
585 Posts