Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of getting my permitt after many years of talking about it. I have been thinking of a S & W (also read about dan wesson and wouldnt mind hearing opinions from you) I may go new, may go used, wherever i may find a "deal." I have done some reasearch on pistols and have heard many opinions, now im asking for yours. I do realize there is no right or wrong answer, and many opinions, and i hope to get many opinions. Here is my criteria:

My first purchase should be one i wont regret, I would like to keep it forever

I do a lot of deer hunting and wouldnt mind using it a few times in the stand or ground on a deer

My preference is a revolver

I do not want to go broke firing rounds

I have been around guns my hole life and have fired pistols periodically. I have a nice collection of rifles and shot guns, so i have some experience in guns, not just some idiot getting it thinking he will protect himself. Any insight you may have would be great. Thanks for reading and for your comments

·
Premium Member
431 Posts
My favorite revolvers are Smith & Wesson revolvers.

If you are going to deer hunt with it, IMO that would mean the minimum caliber would be a .357 magnum and the minimum barrel length would be 4 inches.

I prefer stainless over blued. Adjustable sights over fixed sights.

Based on your needs and my preferences, I would suggest either the S&W model 66 or the 686.

You can shoot cheap .38 specials in it for practice and load it up with the .357 mags when hunting.

I buy most of my firearms on the used market, so don't be worried about buying used.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I agree with what Pistolero said.
The .357 is fine for deer hunting as long as you keep it within bow hunting ranges. Before the .44 mag came out every game animal in North America had been taken with .357, especially deer.