1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
640 Posts
If he did not have a permit and was carrying the gun illegally, he definitely would be in legal trouble. He would then be left to the mercy of the prosecutor's office as to how vigorously they wished to pursue the matter.
If he had a permit and/or was carrying legally, it would depend on what the state statute regarding defense of self and others implied and how it was interpreted by any previous test cases and the prosecutor. My opinion based on the very, very little that was said would incline me to not push for charges but that could change easy enough.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
In Florida you do not need a permit to carry. I believe you only need a permit if you intend on concealing. Im no expert but I believe the only people who are not leagaly allowed to carry are felons and minors.

·
Registered
640 Posts
If I recall correctly, one needs a permit to carry a firearm in Florida, even openly. One can carry a nonlethal device openly without a permit last I looked. An out of state person also needs a Florida permit to carry or have their state offer reciprocity to Florida handgun permit holders in order to carry. I am not sure if one is required to carry a handgun concealed or if it the bearer's choice in Florida when armed. The laws may have changed since I last looked this up but I always peruse the statutes of any state I venture to before hand in order to stay on the right side of the law. Something about being jailed far from home (or close even) does not appeal to me.
As I said, if all is legal and in order, I should hope the samaritan is not charged; if anything is amiss then I hope all goes well for him.

·
Registered
240 Posts
I expect if he didn't have a premit/license to carry he may have an issue as he reincated the event and took the pistol from a consealed location in his ride.