Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I'm new and I am new to shooting handguns. Put a few clips through my friends handguns at the range the other day and i was hooked. Had a blast. I'm not new to shooting guns by no means but i have just never been exposed to handguns until now.

I've been doing my research and i know i want to buy a 9mm because they are cheap to shoot and to get started on from what ive heard/read. But if i go with a .40 cal it would be a stretch.

Thats where i am stuck on the brands. I LOVE the feel of the S&W M/P, not so much the SpringfieldXD, and i never really thought about a Glock until i went to a local gunstore today and the guy let me hold a glock 19. Felt pretty good and very light. I want something that is light and fun to shoot and easy to shoot but accurate.

Any other brands i should be looking into? Only hand guns i have shot is a Tauras 9mm and 40 cal, and a .45.

I'm not looking for something to carry with me at all times, but i do want it to be small but not very small. I have big hands and i have held somewhat small handguns and they didnt feel good in my hands if that makes sense. I'm more or less just looking for something to shoot recreationally but keep in the house for the 'just in case'.

·
Registered
240 Posts
I have a S&W M&P in 45 cal and another in 9mm. The 45 I've have for more than a year and the 9mm for a few months and can say I've never had in issue with either and I shoot them often. Pretty hard to go wrong with the S&W M&P, it has a better grip angle over the Glock and has three different size back straps to better fit your hand and is more accurate in my opinion. I would suggest you get the night sights as it adds so much as a home defense/personal carry firearm.

Thats my 2 cents and welcome to pistol world, lots for good advice here.

·
Registered
5 Posts