Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I am a firefighter-paramedic, so I don't need a service gun, but I'd like to buy one great gun. I'm looking for a gun that I that is extremely reliable, accurate, can conceal carry, home protection, and practice a lot with. I really like the idea of only having one gun and that being MY gun. From what I've read I'm really leaning towards a Walther P99 for what I'm looking for. I'm thinking the 9mm and .40 would be the best balance of power for protection and cost for lots of practice. Your opinions are very welcome!
-JAM

·
Registered
41 Posts
It's hard to help someone pick "one" gun because of personal tastes and bias.

Do you want a semi - auto or a revolver?

Do you like black guns or silver guns or a two tone?

How much are you going to carry?

How much are you willing to pay?

How much shooting do you do?

You need to answer these and probably other questions befroe someone can answer more than "I like such and such" .

I suggest you go to a range that rents guns and start with 9mm and shoot several of them.

Guns really do shoot differently and feel differently - you'll probably find one or two that you like better than others.

Then come back here and tell about the one's you like and we can help you better then.

Just my .02

Good luck.

·
Registered
606 Posts
All very relevant questions by dondavis3. "One Gun" is a tough call, since CCW and home defense would necessarily prefer different guns..... which one are you going to compromise?

If Concealed Carry were a consideration, I'd opt for an Officer's Model 1911, and if CCW were not a factor, I'd go for a Government Model 1911, both in .45 ACP - but, thats me.... 25 guys could easily give you 50 different opinions.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·