Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone had some opinions for someone looking for their first pistol. I'm relatively new to shooting, been to the range once and fired a .38/.357 and a Glock 17. I was a pretty decent shot with both but preferred the recoil of the revolver to the semi-auto.

I'm looking for a decent, accurate, and powerful weapon for protection and future concealed carry.

I've primarily done research in the .40 caliber range, but I'm also open to .45 caliber.

Price isn't much of an option, because my life is worth any gun if it comes down to it.

I've been primarily looking at the Glock 23 and the SIG P229. Any other ideas? Any thoughts?

Thanks

·
Registered
606 Posts
If you're dead set on an autoloader, take a look at a 1911 and a Springfield XD before you take the plunge.

Also, put some consideration to a good wheelgun.... an old Smith & Wesson M19, with the pinned barrel & counterbored cylinder, and target trigger & hammer is about as sweet as a revolver could ever be.

If your primary reason is concealed carry, take a look at a Ruger SP-101, though the S&W M19 can be had with a round butt and a 2" barrel.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response.

I was just down at the Gun Store and held a lot of different semi-auto's, as well as the Springfield XD you mentioned. The downside to the XD was the only one they had was used for $430. I wasn't too set on buying a used weapon. Some of them were heavier than the others, and I didn't like the grip of some of the sub-combats. I don't feel confident with only two fingers on the grip of a gun with such powerful recoil.