Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I'm new to the sight, but I was reading here and thought you may have some answers to my questions. I enjoy shooting and I've been looking to buy a pistol recently. The main reasons I want to buy a pistol is for taking it to the range and also to take it camping, hiking, and self defense. My Dad has a beretta 92fs 9mm but I've never had the chance to shoot it. He said when he purchased his gun he also liked the sig sauer pistols. I know I will need to see which gun feels the best in my hand before purchasing. I don't know what caliber gun to look for. I want something that's going to be fun to shoot, so I didn't think I wanted a .45 acp because of the recoil. But I've also read stories on the controversy about 9mm not having a lot of stopping power if I needed it. I'm certainly not ruling the 9mm out though. I also thought about possibly using the pistol in competitions at my local shooting range (just for fun, not to be competive), and I don't know what caliber rounds are usually allowed in competitions. I was looking at both the sig p226 and p229 mainly in the 9mm or .40 caliber. What are your thoughts? I hope these questions don't sound too dumb. Thanks

·
Registered
640 Posts
A 9mm is a fine choice, ammo is the least expensive of the centerfires (do not confuse this with cheap, there is no such animal anymore) and it is plenty for protection with the correct loads. One must remember, those who are putting down the effectiveness of the 9mm have never, and never will, offer to let someone shoot them with it. The 9mm will also be adequate for competition, many are either local "fun shoots" where claiber is a secondary consideration to fun or are divided into classes based on caliber.