Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and feel that there is a potential for BIG savings. The .45 colt cowboy action load is kinda high but way to fun to shoot to cut back...I have a tumbler and have gathered about 400 once fired brass. I guess i am looking for some advice as to reloading from loads to good components. I do not need to go into mass production so high speed it is not an issue...A final question,what kind of savings can you expect...

Thanks for the info...

·
Registered
640 Posts
I have begun to use IMR's Trail Boss powder in the 45 Colt as it takes up plenty of space in the case and closely copies the CAS loads. I don't think one realizes any savings by reloading; one tends to spend the same amount of money but instead shoots more often. It is hard to estimate the cost of reloading as there are many variables such as: in what quantities are you buying your components (large amounts often cost less per unit), the local cost of components (some shops/areas charge more than others), the components your supplier carries (some only carry the major companies which may cost appreciatively more than some of the smaller manufacturers), and what equipment you already have, what you still need to get, and if you are buying new or used. I'm still working off several thousand 45 Colt bullets I bought a few years ago for well under $70/1000 bullets. I also cast my own bullets from whatever lead I can scrounge so that is also a cost to factor in. In today's prices, taking into component cost only, I would suspect one could handily beat factory prices by half and probably more if one buys in bulk and shops around.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I started reloading the 45 colt a couple months back. For me personally there's a tremendous savings.

The nearest place that sold them was 30 miles away at Gander Mt. for $36 per 50 rounds.

That's .77 cents a round after tax.