Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My gunshop just got a S&W Mod 13 in and he's asking $295. I'm not an expert at judging guns, but I'd say condition is good. Bluing is slightly worn at the muzzle; the finish has a few very light scratches, the cylinder has the light score from rotating, and the rubber grips are scuffed. The gun is clean on the inside, so someone has been taking care of it and the cylinder is tight.

The trigger is excellent, In DA, it is as light as my SA Ruger Single Six. I've shot both the King Cobra and Colt Trooper and neither had a trigger as light as this Mod 13. (I wouldn't even consider shooting those in DA mode.)

Question is: even though this gun is a .357, I'm reading on the S&W forums that the K-frames aren't really good for .357 Magnums. Most of my shooting will be on the range with .38 spcl, but, you know: you gotta shoot the hot stuff once in a while for the fun of it as well as to be comfortable if I ever need it, However, this will be a range gun.

Any opinions or knowledge you experts can share?

Thanks

·
Registered
640 Posts
The price may be a little on the high side but much depends on where one is located. I have had a S&W 66 for 30 plus years that I bought used and it has had a fair number of 357 mag rounds through it. It still shoots fine and I have not had any significant repairs to make. The 357 is down loaded from its early days when it was first introduced in the large N-Frame so things are not as hard on the K-Frames as they once were. Still, a steady diet of magnum rounds will cause wear faster than 38s but the normal shooter probably has no worries if one stays with factory level loadings. I would say a good 98% of my current shooting is with 38 Spls, way back when the 357 mag loads made up closer to 50% I'm sure. Go shoot it and from your description, I would not worry.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·