Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to purchase a new gun preferably a 45. I like both the Sig 220 and the Springfield 1911. Can I hear some comments on the preferred choice and why you prefer that choice? Your opinions would be a lot of help to me since all you folks know a lot more than I do about these guns..

·
Registered
112 Posts
Plaz, I mostly wanted to welcome you to the Forum; I hate to see someone post and have their question sitting there unanswered. Welcome.

As to your question, I don't own a Springfield 1911, I own Kimber. Fact is one member of the IDPA group that I have been shooting with for 4 years now had problems with both a Springfield 1911 and the service he sought following the problems. His problems caused all of us to steer clear of them. Unjustly, I understand that. There are lots of members of this forum who own, enjoy and recommend Springfield pistols and I'm sure you would be satisfied.

I also own a SigSauer P229 with barrels in both .40 Smith and .357 Sig. I like it, but have never shot a Sig 220. For whatever the reason those shooting .45 cal shoot 1911, with the exception of a couple of Glocks. If it helps, I'd like to have a Sig P-220 (of course I'd like to have about 3 more 1911s too).

·
Registered
175 Posts
Plaz;

I agree with the guys but some other things you should consider when making up your mind about something as personal as buying a handgun.

Fit. How do the ones you are considering fir your hands physically and how are you able to function them mechanically to load and eject, operate safeties, mag catches etc.

If you are contemplating an auto all of these things andmore are very important and must not be left out of the equasion.