Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Female total newbi here - never shot a handgun before. (Though that will change later on today when we fire a few of our friend's).

I just got my pistol permit here in NY (what a pain!). I bought a Walther PPK/S (two months ago thanks to our fine laws, when I had no idea what I was doing)- mistake. I hate it, cant rack it.

I am looking for a 9mm or .380 semi-auto. I have held a number of guns but am starting to get overwhelmed. I have some qualifications that have to be met and am looking for some advice.

First and foremost I need to be able to rack it.

Secondly, I need (most likely) a single stack mag. Most double stacks are too wide for me to grip comfortably. The most comfortable gun I've held is the S&W 39-2, but I want to buy new. I cant seem to find anywhere online how wide that gun is.

Finally, I am not opposed to an external hammer, but I like the feel of the trigger pull on the glock/XD internal hammers. But as said those (as far as I've seen) are a little too wide for my taste.

Wondering if there is an internal hammer, single stack out there? If not, I'm sure I can get used to the hammer and prob just have to train to cock it on the first shot for accuracy sake.

So what do you suggest? TIA!

·
Premium Member
318 Posts
Sorry to hear about your PPK/S, my wife has one and loves it. Right off hand I might suggest you try a Colt 380 government model. They are made just like a 1911, just smaller. They have an external hammer but as you said Im sure you can get used to it.
Another one you might look at is the Sigsauer P230 in 380. It looks like the PPK, but I think the slide may be a little less hard to rack.
Next would be the Sig 239 in 9mm, looks just like the 228 only has a single stack magazine. The slide will be a little wider and might be a little easier to grasp.