Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at getting a Springfield XD45 in the 5" barrel but read where someone had problems in shooting SWC in it, has anyone else had any experiece with semi wad cutters in the XD45? Also what about the Taurus 24/7...same question, anyone with any real world experience with the Taurus and SWC's?

·
Registered
175 Posts
johnclark

I have lots of experience with both of the guns you mentioned and about 78 others also as I have them in my rental counter at my shooting range.

The problem is not with XD or Taurus as opposed to the SWC in an auto.
The semi autos are not made to handle SWC ammo in the first place so to have a little problem with them is in my humble opinion not a surprise. I would be more surprised if you did not have a problem unless you have had your gun, (name one, automatic) that has not had the barrel throated.

Now having said that if you are even a little bit coordinated, you can do your own or take it to your favorite gunsmith and he will throat the barrel of your auto for very little money and then you can feed anything you wish to shoot. If it is done properly, you can feed empty brass reliably.

Hope this helps a little.

Frankly, before I ever wear a gun for self defense, I have the "reliability" package done. Which includes throating, tuning the ejector and other things to make the gun absolutely fool proof, if that is possible.

Take care and good shooting.

UF

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aweseome info Fudd, I have never heard of Throating before. What is it and how do they do it. What other reliability measures do you suggest on a semi auto .45? Color me neophite to handguns. Am more used to rifles and scatterguns.
Thanks

·
Registered
175 Posts
johnclark;

If you look at the barrel of you auto you will notice the front edge is quite sharp. Throating is basically polishing this edge off to a nice smooth, open face.