Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys and gals;
I have been an active instructor for a lot of years and most of my time I am either still learning or trying to share some of what I have been privileged to experience with others.

I have attended courses at many of the finest facilities in the nation and some over seas as well. However these facilities are expensive and to some out of the realm of practicality. Especially now with the cost of living day to day they seem even more distant in our priorities. In short, they are too expensive when compared with placing food on our tables or gas in our tanks.

So what do we have as ready alternatives that can bring excellent training to all of us at affordable rates.
In a word, it's reading. And there are some excellent IMHO books by the same people who host the schools I mentioned earlier. Some of these people are still with us and some have left tremendous legacies for us to study to our benefit.

I thought I would start this thread in the sincere hope that something I say might help someone and encourage others to participate by adding to the list with comments and personal encouragement. Pitch in folks, we may all learn.

I saw something similar on another forum and thought it is a great idea whose time is here, brought on by necessity and the cost of living.

I do not have an official list to work from, but I will share a few of the better books which I have read, learned from, andI would highly recommend if asked for help.

My personal list of just a few of my favorites are;

The late Col. Jeff Cooper; one in particular is his book, "To Ride, shoot Straight and to Speak the Truth". And probably the number one book that In my opinion sets the stage for all other books of its' kind, "Principles of Personal Defense"

Dave Grossman, "On Killing" and "On Combat".

If you are new to concealed carry, Chris Bird "The concealed carry manual".