Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to buy a 1911 .45, and have heard very good things about the newer Taurus models. The larger local gun store tries to push me toward their most expensive models, Kimbers and S&W, so I wanted to ask -- how does the Taurus compare? I did notice it is about 6 ounces lighter than most 1911's.
I am a strong believer in "you get what you pay for", so how are the Taurus models 300-500 less?
I currently own a SIG P226 in a .40 and LOVE it, but want a 1911 so my wife and I can go shooting together. My wife will probably shoot my SIG more. I am looking for a quality gun that is accurate and suited for home defense also. Any thoughts and comments are appreciated.

·
Registered
606 Posts
I have no first-hand experience with the Taurus 1911, but my experience with Taurus revolvers is enough to keep me from even considering their autoloader.

Your mileage may vary.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did end up buying the Taurus PT1911 and have to say that I don't regret it. It is very well made, very tight tolerances, 0 play. I have put about 200 rounds through it with no problems, and it's very accurate.
I do have a question about general care -- I sprayed the frame down with Gun Scrubber after shooting it, as .45 seems to be a pretty messy round, and thus degreased it. I generally oil the slide grooves, barrel, guide, and any friction areas, but I was wondering if there are any internal parts that should be oiled as well?
Also, are all 1911 barrels designed the same way, that is, with a little eyelet that pivots on a hinge? Man that is a pain to put together. It freaked me out a bit, because I wasn't quite sure if I got the pin through it the first time... A bit more tedious than my SIG P226.

·
Registered
4 Posts