Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings to all! I am new to reloading and am about to load my first batch of .40S&W for my Beretta 96. I read in the Lyman Reloading Handbook (49th ed.) that the case length spec is 0.850", and that the Lyman-recommended trim-to length is 0.845"; they recommend discarding cases shorter than the trim-to length.

I have a brand-new bag of Winchester .40S&W cases to which I took my digital dial caliper to check lengths. All cases range from 0.840" to 0.845"; nearly all are under the Lyman-specified minimum length. This leads me to a few questions.

1. Is Lyman correct in the 0.845" minimum length? I don't have any other references, so can't cross-check. 0.005" seems like a really narrow range to me.

2. Are the Winchester brasses defective?

3. Given that I'm firing a non-target pistol and am still leaning to shoot well, should I worry about trimming all cases to a consistent length or is a +/- 1-2 thou length going to prove satisfactory? I am concerned that too-short cases can create overpressure issues.

Many thanks in advance to all...this forum looks like just what the doctor ordered for a newbie like me.

Walt
El Cajon, CA USA

·
Registered
66 Posts
My post appears to be lost.
Oh well...
1. Is Lyman correct in the 0.845" minimum length? I don't have any other references, so can't cross-check. 0.005" seems like a really narrow range to me.
Measure AFTER sizing.

2. Are the Winchester brasses defective?
No

3. Given that I'm firing a non-target pistol and am still leaning to shoot well, should I worry about trimming all cases to a consistent length or is a +/- 1-2 thou length going to prove satisfactory? I am concerned that too-short cases can create overpressure issues.
Pressure is a function of the case volume after seating a bullet. This is NOT effected by the trimming of a case. You are sweating a non-issue.