Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and just bought a tumbler, dies, etc. to reload my SP101 and later my 1911. I have been reloading my rifles for sometime but always just exaimined the brass and cleaned it with a cloth before reloading. The manual that came with the tumbler makes it sound like a cardnial sin if you don't polish the brass each time you reload and twice if you don't have carbide dies.

My question - what is the common practice??

·
Registered
606 Posts
Rifle or pistol, it doesn't matter..... I tumble the brass every time.

I've not had a case stick in a die yet, but from what I hear, if it happens to you, it will make a believer out of you.... clean brass is good brass.

G

·
Same here,

My brass goes into the tumbler after its shot. It makes things a lot less grittier which also is an added plus that you don't scratch your dies or brass.

You can locate/purchase bulk media at the pet stores. Look for lizard litter or bird cage litter.

One thing that I do is add cut up pieces of dryer sheets to the media, it helps keep the dust down as well as keep your media clean.

If I don't have dryer sheets I use a durable paper towel dowsed with some Nufinish car wax. Don't use anything with ammonia in it.

Another tip, tumble your brass before your resize it.

Myself I don't tumble much over 2 hours, it gets it clean enough for me. YMMV

·
Premium Member
318 Posts
I tumble all brass before reloading. I put it in walnut hull for about 30 min. then corn cob for about an hour and a half.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Tumble the brass before sizing and after to clean it up. I mix the corn and walnut, I use liquid car wax to polish the case. I take the anti clean squares my wife uses in the dryer, cut them in 1" squares and add to the media. It cleans the media and prolongs the life of it. You end up with decent looking brass.
Jim

·
Registered
86 Posts