Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting into pistol shooting and I read about all of these cool pistols that I would like to have like a 1911 but I am in college and can't afford a lot. I was wondering what everybody's opinion is regarding used pistols. Is it worth getting a used pistol so that I can afford to get more pistols? Also, I don't know how to really tell a good from a bad used pistol due to the fact that I am new to this. Should I only go to places like Cabelas to get a used pistol or is it okay to get them at a pawn shop too? What about if I just buy them from somebody in the newspaper classifieds, do either I or them have to have a FFL, is it safe?

·
Registered
606 Posts
When buying a used firearm of any type, you should research it beforehand.... familiarize yourself with the operation, maintenance, and common problems of that particular firearm. Better yet, bring along someone who is TRULY knowledgable (But you'll probably need a good BS detector to find somebody who really knows what they're talking about).

In lieu of the above, deal only with a local reputable dealer.... no pawn shops, no f-t-f sales, no online sales. That way, you'll have some recourse if there's a problem. Know ahead of time what the gun is worth, and be prepared to walk away if the price is too high.

·
Registered
23 Posts