Pistol World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently applied for and received my CCW. I currently have an S&W 9mm but want to move up to a .45 ACP as a carry gun.

Looking for opinions on the Colt Commander and the Colt Combat Commander in blue.

Any other input will be appreciated.

·
Registered
149 Posts
have you tried shooting a sub/compact 45?

if not, i would try to find some to try shooting. also, if youre going to shoot +P rounds or any HD/SD rounds, i would try shooting what you want to carry.

then, i would see how you feel about carry one.

i have a Colt Combat Commander that i got used. It was worked on by a local 1911 smith. dont know why the original owner sold it either since its a really nice tack driver. its just a paper puncher. since the condition is almost 100% other then the mods, i dont want to carry it. i have other toys for that.

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have used a 1911 but have not used the Commander size 1911. I call the sub-compact the real short 3" barreled ones. I have not had a chance to use a sub-compact.

I am a little leery about the Commander as it has an alloy frame. But, it is about 6 oz lighter to carry than the Combat. My thinking is the extra 6 oz would certainly be heavier to carry but would surely last for more rounds than the alloy and would probably have a little less recoil - better for follow-up shots.

Looking for opinions from those who know more than I.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Road Rat said:
I have used a 1911 but have not used the Commander size 1911. I call the sub-compact the real short 3" barreled ones. I have not had a chance to use a sub-compact.